21 Days of Thanks: Day 5

Today, I am thankful for paint and the happiness it brings to my home.

My father-in-law likes to joke that if it stands still for a while, I’ll paint it.

It’s 100% true.

I come by it naturally.  This piece was in my grandparents’ entry way for as long as I can remember and probably longer.  It was originally a creamy white, but my mom painted it brown.

Surprisingly it stayed this way for almost two years.  Then it moved to the landing of my stairs and needed a little plastic paint surgery.

A few weeks ago, I used a metallic silver base coat and distressed it with halcyon green and a chocolate metallic glaze.

It was a cool effect and I didn’t hate it.

But I didn’t love it.

Enter my problem with paint.  I went at it with a little leftover Rockport Grey from painting the chest of drawers and a sample of Benjamin Moore’s French Canvas.

This is what I like to call various stages of my laziness.  I started on the right with taping and eventually free-handed on the left.  Hey, it happens.  Right?

Fabulous!  But I can’t leave well enough alone and I’ll be distressing it soon enough.  It needs a little age to it, don’t ya think?

Leave a Reply

