Dressing the Dining Room

When you walk into my house, the first thing you see is my dining room.

This is what the dining room looked like right before we moved in.  Yes, that is red. Red.  Red.  Red.  While it’s not a bad choice of color for a dining room, it definitely was not my choice for the dining room. (This picture was taken at night with my phone the day we closed on the house; my apologies for the horrible lighting.)

Those blinds on the french doors came down first thing.  And then we painted (are you surprised?).  And it truly could not have turned out any better.

The walls are painted with three coats (!!) of Benjamin Moore’s Middlebury Brown.  The table was a gift from my sister-in-law and brother-in-law.  And I’m sure you remember when I recovered the chairs (and finally finished them in about 45 minutes yesterday).

And since it’s Christmastime, our dining room is especially beautiful all dressed up for the holiday!

I always tend toward simple and classic Christmas decorations, and the easier the better.  I hung basic wreaths from the curtain rods with red grosgrain ribbon and a bow.  The curtains are actually twin XL sheets hunt on ring clips.  So easy to take down and wash!

Bowl of Ornaments

And a sparkly bowl full of red ornaments makes a quick and easy centerpiece that everyone seems to love.

Our house is just beautiful at Christmastime, and this year I’ve gone all-out since we aren’t putting up a full tree.  I’ll share more pictures in the coming weeks along with some gift ideas and a few tutorials.  Merry Christmas, everyone!

Leave a Reply

